CBSD Congratulates our National Merit Scholarship Finalists and Commended students!

CBSD is proud to announce that 15 of our students were named finalists and 31 were named among the commended students in the prestigious 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. 

All finalists will be considered for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, worth more than $31 million that will be offered this spring. About half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. 

About 1.5 million juniors in the U.S. entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as the initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

To become a finalist, a semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by the high school principal and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

CBSD is proud of our students' significant achievements in working toward this prestigious award! The recognition they have achieved brings honor to their school communities and to the entire Central Bucks School District. They are:

Central Bucks East


  • Michael Bliss
  • Esther Cheng
  • Haley Kloss
  • Alicia Luo
  • Ethan Zhang

Commended Students

  • Marissa Ballew
  • Alexander Baxevanidis
  • Ariel Chen
  • Brennan Coleman
  • Vraj Kothari
  • Pranav Kuppuswamy
  • Nicole O’Keefe
  • Ethan Quinn
  • Jason Rackas
  • Brett Young
  • Jonathan Zavialov
  • Felix Zhang

Central Bucks South


  • Mehir Badlani
  • Rachel Feng
  • Nicole Hang
  • Srinithi Krishnamoorthy
  • Michael Rehmet
  • Ananya Siragavarapu
  • Alexander Wang
  • Benjamin Zhang

Commended Students

  • Thomas Balkir
  • Cade Jin
  • Mitchel Johnson
  • Holly Mirales
  • Raymond Neff
  • Shreyas Ramkumar
  • Elizabeth Rosenello
  • Abinaya Santhirasegaran
  • Riya Senthil
  • Harini Shankar
  • Eric Song
  • Thanmayee Yalamanchi
  • Gerald Zhou

Central Bucks West


  • Ryan Horst
  • Eric Mass 

Commended Students

  • Jeremy Goldrick
  • Devyn Growney
  • Makayla Kohler
  • Katy Nicholas
  • Mia Pogach
  • Roy Zhang