Bridge Valley, named after the historic Eight-Arch Bridge which is located at the crossroads where York Road crosses Neshaminy Creek opened in September of 2004.
In 1801 a group of citizens of Warwick Township petitioned Bucks County for a new bridge to replace the old, rotting stone and timber bridge then spanning the Neshaminy Creek at Bridge Valley. After 290 days of construction at an expense of $15,561.40 (which included board for the workers), the eight-arch stone bridge was completed in 1804 and was the longest stone arch bridge in Pennsylvania built at that time. Responding to a need to control the speed of travelers over the bridge, the Commissioners decided a speed limit was necessary. A cast iron sign was bolted to the bridge so that everyone would know that substantial fines would be imposed for going too fast. The eight-arch bridge over the Neshaminy Creek (adjacent to present Route 263) was once an important transportation landmark; it is now used as a pedestrian bridge. The Central Bucks School directors are pleased to acknowledge the rich history of this community with the naming of Bridge Valley Elementary School.
Architect: Diseroad, Wolff, Kelly, Clugh, Bucher, Inc., Hatfield, PA
General Contractor: Penn Builders, Quakertown, PA
CBSD Project Manager: Jim McIntosh
Student Capacity: 1100 students