• Saxon

    Incremental/Developmental Lessons

    • Each lesson is task analyzed
    • Lessons distributed through year
    • Lessons spiral back
    • New learning is one succinct skill

    Continual Practice

    • Built in drill and repetition
    • Primary - homework mirrors lesson
    • Hands on practice

    Cumulative Assessments

    • Every five lessons
    • Spiraling
    • 80% or better is considered proficient

    The Saxon program does not wait for mastery before moving on to the next skill because you will come back to the skill. It is a research-based and evidence-based program. At first it is easy and then as each level in the program progresses, it builds and becomes more challenging. This was done on purpose for the following reasons:

    • To give students a feeling of success
    • To build a strong foundation
    • To close the gap
    • To prepare to build on skills
    • To develop predictable routines
    • To use easy concepts to introduce vocabulary

    Instructional Levels

    Primary Program:

    Level K: Kindergarten instructional level

    Level 1: 1st grade instructional level

    Level 2: 2nd grade instructional level

    Level 3: 3rd grade instructional level

    Level 4: 4th grade instructional level

    Upper Elementary Program:

    Saxon 5/4: 4th grade instructional level (appropriate for struggling 5th grade student)

    Saxon 6/5: 5th grade instructional level (appropriate for struggling 6th grade student)

    Saxon 7/6: 6th grade instructional level (appropriate for struggling 7th grade student)