CBSD Congratulates 2023 National Merit Scholarship Finalists and Commended Students

Central Bucks School District wishes to recognize the 18 CBSD students who achieved the distinct honor of being named finalists in the prestigious 2023 National Merit Scholarship Program.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarship awards worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, finalists must fulfill several rigorous requirements. About half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. These students represent less than 1 percent of the nation’s high school graduating seniors. They are the only participants who have an opportunity to advance in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards.

While they will not continue in the competition, approximately 34,000 Commended students are also recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Commended students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2022 competition by taking the 2021 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

CBSD is proud of their significant achievements in working toward this prestigious award! The recognition they have achieved brings honor to their school communities and to the entire Central Bucks School District. They are:

Central Bucks East

students stand on a staircase


  • Joshua Baker
  • Sonya Bates
  • Leah Loukedis
  • James Sexton
  • Francis Torres

Commended Students

  • Alan Bai
  • Joshua Baker
  • Sonya Bates
  • Thomas Cherry
  • Alisa Cufone
  • Kaitlyn Dooley
  • Nina Harris
  • Leah Loukedis
  • Chare Rajapakse
  • Alexander Robertson
  • Suraj Samudrala
  • James Sexton
  • Jackon Stahl
  • Dhaval Tantry
  • Francis Torres
  • Arielle Vinnikov
  • Charley Wan

Central Bucks South

students stand together in a group


  • Jaimin Fee
  • Katherine He
  • Benjamin Kim
  • Ethan Kim
  • Brian Schmidt
  • Akhil Sethukarthy
  • Claire Strobel
  • Namrata Sureddy

Commended Students

  • Thomas Dalessio
  • Sindhu Dasari
  • Carter Forman
  • Diya Hundiwala
  • Vibha Iyengar
  • Lilly Johannan
  • Annabelle Johnson
  • Soham Kakadia
  • Arunan Karthik
  • Mohammed Khan
  • Jonathan Kim
  • Joseph Lee
  • Jasmine Liu
  • Katie Liu
  • Heli Patel
  • Kosha Patel
  • Sophia Perdoncin
  • Shivani Pradeep
  • Kyle Pyano
  • Julia Pye
  • Varun Rao
  • Edward Song
  • Rishi Suresh
  • Abhinav Tondapu
  • Austin Zhang

Central Bucks West

students stand in a group


  • Mila Acosta-Morales
  • Olivia M. Magalio
  • Ethan H. Maher
  • Lance Y. Xu
  • Jonathan T. Zhang

Commended Students

  • Dev Avadaria
  • Leo Burchell
  • Paige Burchell
  • Brianna Burchett
  • Owen Donaher
  • Elainnor Frisbie
  • Cayleigh Haag
  • Julian Kim
  • Ava Sasser
  • Griffin Smith