• The Common Core State Standards for English/Language Arts are literacy standards for grades K-12 which have been adopted by the vast majority of states. The standards are designed to ensure that students leave high school with the literacy skills needed to be college and career ready. Within the English/Language Arts standards at the elementary level, there are six strands:
    • Reading Standards for Literature
    • Reading Standards for Informational Text
    • Reading Standards: Foundational Skills
    • Writing Standards
    • Speaking and Listening Standards
    • Language standards